CAA Protest: Women on the streets in protest against citizenship law in Assam, said- We want peace, not Bangladeshi

Guwahati: Citizenship Amendment Act is being opposed all over the country. Ever since the Citizenship Amendment Bill was introduced in Parliament, there was a demand to withdraw it in the Northeast. The bill was introduced, passed and became law in both houses. After which opposition to this new amended law started increasing. Several people have died in violent demonstrations in the northeastern states. On Saturday, thousands of women marched against the citizenship law. The women said that she wants peace in the state, not Bangladeshi migrants.

Women appeared in traditional costumes during the performance. The women shouted slogans and reminded the government that they are descendants of great women who fought the Mughals. Ruby Dutta Barua, who attended the demonstration, said, ‘We are descendants of great women of the country like Mula Gabru, Kanaklata and Bir Lachit Borfukone. Assam has its great history. Assam has always raised its voice against injustice and this time also we cannot do injustice to the state. We cannot allow citizenship law to be enforced. This is not clear on behalf of the women of Assam.

Another woman said, ‘This law will harm our state, it will harm our language, culture and harmony. We have been fighting a long time against this, but the government is not listening to us. Another protesting woman said, ‘Our performance will not stop till this law is withdrawn. We want peace, not Bangladeshi migrants. Peace will return only when the government will listen to us.

Significantly, after the Citizenship Amendment Bill was introduced in Parliament, the demand for withdrawal of it in the entire country including the Northeast had gained momentum. It became law after passage from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and the signature of the President. Under this amended law, there is a provision to grant Indian citizenship to non-Muslims coming from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. It has 6 communities – Hindu, Sikh, Christian, Jain, Buddhist and Zoroastrian. There is opposition to keeping Muslims out of it. The central government argues that this law has been amended to give Indian citizenship to religiously persecuted minorities in these three countries and there are no Muslim minorities in these three countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *